Managing Event Processing Order in Multiple `mae-consumer` Servers

Original Slack Thread

Hi team, I’m a data engineer in Samsung, and we’re considering to use DataHub as a engine of our company’s data catalog system.
We are expecting that huge number of Metadata Change Log events will be generated, so we need to scale-out mae-consumer server.
Currently, mae-consumer is deployed as a Deployment in k8s, so physically scaling out is not a problem, but I’m curious about whether the event processing order will be the problem or not.

For example, let’s assume MCL1 is generated first, and MCL2 is generated after it and mae-consumer-1 pod, mae-consumer-2 pod is deployed.
mae-consumer-1 pod recieves MCL1, mae-consumer-2 pod receives MCL2.
For some reason, mae-consumer-2 pod processed MCL2 first, so some action is done to ElasticSearch, Neo4j. Next mae-consumer-1 pod processed MCL1 after, so another action is done to ES, Neo4j too.
In this situation, I expect that there can be some problems…

So, will there be some problems because of the processing order in multiple mae-consumer? Will our team need to develop some functionalities for them? (edited)

1. CLI for integration
  2. 0.12.0 version
  3. Not directly about the data source, but about the MCL processing…

Hello <@U069AP5MJGG> I think I know the answer to your question (was actually my concern at some moment in the past too - so I would be very happy to compare our experiences). First of all - if you want to use multiple mae-consumers they need to be part of a topic consumer group (the MCL events are stored, by default, in MetadataChangeLog_Versioned_v1 and MetadataChangeLog_Timeseries_v1 kafka topics). These topics need to have proper amount of partitions defined according to the number of consumers you are going to use (if topic has, let’s say, 6 partitions and you run 7 consumers one of them will not get any partition assigned and therefor be idle).